Key Institutions

The African Union


The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

East African Community (EAC)

African Development Bank (AFDB)


The Southern African Development Community (SADC)

The Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)

Arab Maghreb Union (AMU/UMA)


In 2015, African leaders adopted Agenda 2063 as the continent’s new long-term vision for the next 50 years. Led by the African Union Commission (AUC), Agenda 2063 aims to optimise the use of Africa’s resources for the benefit of the continent’s people.

It builds on and seeks to accelerate the implementation of past and existing continental initiatives for growth and sustainable development.

Some of the past and current initiatives it builds on include: the Lagos Plan of Action, The Abuja Treaty, The Minimum Integration Programme, the Programme for Infrastructural Development in Africa (PIDA), the Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP), The New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD), Regional Plans and Programmes and National Plans. It is also built on national, regional, continental best practices in its formulation.


The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a set of 17 global goals set by the United Nations and formally adopted by world leaders in September 2015. They came into effect in January 2016 and build on the success of the 8 Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). They aim by 2030 to end all forms of poverty, fight inequalities and tackle climate change while ensuring that no one is left behind. The SDGs acknowledge the importance of the AU Agenda 2063 and considers it to be a key part of it.