Welcome To Uganda

  • Country Profile
  • Development Agenda


The Republic of Uganda is located in East Africa. It shares a border with Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Democratic Republic of Congo and South Sudan. Uganda gained independence from Britain in 1962. Since then, the country has experienced military coups and a brutal military dictatorship under Idi Amin which ended in 1979.

In 1986, the National Resistance Movement (NRM) led by President Yoweri Museveni introduced a number of structural reforms and investments, most of which led to a sustained period of high growth and poverty reduction between 1987 and 2010. Similarly, Uganda has introduced ambitious public sector reforms in the past two decades. This has resulted in the creation of a robust formal governance system and has helped improve public sector management and institutional management.

President: Yoweri Museveni

Capital: Kampala

Population: 35.5 million

Religion: Christianity, Islam

Languages: EnglishSwahili, Luganda


To download the full report click here

Uganda Vision 2040 builds on the progress that has been made in addressing the strategic bottlenecks that have constrained Uganda’s socio-economic development since independence. It is based around strengthening the fundamentals of the economy to harness the opportunities around the country. The opportunities include; oil and gas, tourism, minerals, ICT business, labour force, geographical location and trade, water resources, industrialization and agriculture.