Welcome To The Democratic Republic of Congo (DR Congo)

  • Country Profile
  • Development Agenda

The Democratic Republic of Congo (DR Congo)

The Democratic Republic of Congo (DR Congo) is located in central Africa. It shares a border with CAR, South Sudan, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania, Zambia, Angola and the Republic of the Congo. It is a vast country – the 2ndlargest and 4thmost populated in Africa and its recent history has been one marred in civil war fuelled by the country’s rich natural resources, which includes 80 million hectares of arable land and over 1,100 minerals and precious metals. The DR Congo has the potential to become one of Africa’s richest countries and a driver of growth if it can overcome its political instability.

President: Joseph Kabila

Capital: Kinshasa

Population: 80 million

Religion: Christianity, Islam

Languages: Lingala, Kiswahili, Kikongo, Tshiluba



To download the full report click here