Welcome To Tanzania

  • Country Profile
  • Development Agenda


The Republic of Tanzania is located in the African Great Lakes region of East Africa. It shares a border with Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique. Two of the world’s renowned tourism destinations are in Tanzania – the Serengeti national parks and Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa’s highest mountain.

President: John Magufuli

Capital: Dodoma

Population: 55 million

Religion: Christianity, Islam

Languages: English, Swahili

To download the full report click here

Tanzania has sustained relatively high economic growth over the last decade, averaging 6–7% a year. But while its poverty rate has declined, its absolute number of poor has not because of its high population growth rate.

Vision 2025

The three principal objectives of the Vision 2025 are; achieving quality and a good life for all; good governance and the rule of law; and building a strong and resilient economy that can effectively withstand global competition