Welcome To Sudan

  • Country Profile
  • Development Agenda


The Republic of Sudan is located in Northern Africa. It shares a border with Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, South Sudan, the Central African Republic, Chad and Libya. In 2011 South Sudan declared independence from Sudan. Tensions still exist between the two countries – in particular around the question of oil revenues and border demarcation. Continuing conflicts in the western region of Darfur where 2 million people have been displaced are also major challenges for the country President: Omar Hassan al-Bashir Capital: Khartoum Population: 40 million Religion: Islam Languages: English, Arabic
To download the full report click here
The secession of South Sudan in 2011 caused multiple economic shocks. The most important and immediate was the loss of the oil revenue that accounted for over half of Sudan’s government revenue and 95% of its exports. This has left huge challenges, as well as much reduced economic growth.  Away from oil, agriculture and livestock are essential to Sudan’s economic diversification and could contribute to medium-term macroeconomic stability. This is recognised in the government’s Interim Poverty Reduction Strategy Paper (I-PRSP) and Five-year Program for Economic Reforms.