Welcome To South Sudan

  • Country Profile
  • Development Agenda

South Sudan

The Republic of South Sudan is situated in east-central Africa. It shares a border with Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, the Democratic Republic of Congo and the Central African Republic. Following a bloody civil war that cost over a million lives, in 2011 South Sudan gained independence from Sudan making it the world’s youngest country. Independence did not result in peace and various challenges still exist. President: Salva Kiir Mayardiit Capital: Juba Population: 9 million Religion: Christianity Languages: English, Arabic, Dinka, Juba Arabic
To download the full report click here
South Sudan Vision 2040: Towards freedom, equality, justice, peace and prosperity for all, was adopted by the Government of South Sudan’s Council of Ministers on January 15, 2010 The vision is founded on seven pillars: educated and informed nation; prosperous, productive and innovative nation; free, just and peaceful nation; democratic and accountable nation; safe and secure nation; united and proud nation; and compassionate and tolerant nation.