Welcome To Somalia

  • Country Profile
  • Development Agenda


The Federal Republic of Somalia is located in the Horn of Africa. It shares a border with Ethiopia, Djibouti and Kenya. The country was created in 1960 from a former British protectorate and an Italian colony. Following the overthrow of President Siad Barre in 1991, Somalia descended into anarchy. In 2012 a new, internationally-backed government was installed which has lead to some stability. However, Al-Qaeda inspired insurgents Al-Shabab still pose a major threat.

President: Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed

Capital: Mogadishu

Population: 14.5 million

Religion: Islam

Languages: Somali, Arabic, English, Italian

To download the full report click here

In February 2017, the New Partnership for Somalia was created. Aligned with the National Development Plan, it outlines priority areas critical for development, including a) Humanitarian, b) Strengthening National Security, c) More Inclusive Stable Politics, and d) Accelerating Economic Recovery.