Welcome To Seychelles

  • Country Profile
  • Development Agenda


The Republic of Seychelles is an archipelago of 115 islands located east of mainland East Africa. Since its independence from the UK in 1976, Seychelles has developed from a largely agricultural society to a market-based diversified economy, with agriculture being taken over by service, public sectors and tourism.

President: Danny Faure

Capital: Victoria

Population: 95,000

Religion: Christianity

Languages: English, French, Creole

To download the full report click here

The Seychelles Sustainable Development Strategy 2012-2020 is designed to improve sustainable development management and to provide a clear path to a better national economy, including deriving more from tourism, fisheries, fresh water supply, agriculture, and recreational activities.