Welcome To Rwanda

  • Country Profile
  • Development Agenda


The Republic of Rwanda is located in east and central Africa. One of the smallest country’s in Africa, it shares a border with Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of Congo. Since the 1994 civil war and genocide, Rwanda has made great development gains which have helped to reduce poverty and inequality.

President: Paul Kagame

Capital: Kigali

Population: 11.5 million

Religion: Christianity

Languages: Kinyarwanda, English, Swahili, French

To download the full report click here

Rwanda’s long-term development goals are defined in Vision 2020 a strategy that aims to transform the country from a low-income, agriculture-based economy to a knowledge-based, service-oriented economy with middle-income country status by 2020. To achieve this, the Vision 2020 identifies six interwoven pillars, including good governance and an efficient State, skilled human capital, vibrant private sector, world-class physical infrastructure and modern agriculture and livestock, all geared towards prospering in national, regional and global markets.