Welcome To Equatorial Guinea

  • Country Profile
  • Development Agenda

Equatorial Guinea

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea is located in Central Africa and shares a border with Gabon and Cameroon. A former Spanish colony, it is the only sovereign African state in which Spanish is an official language.

In the 1990s, Equatorial Guinea became one of Africa’s largest oil producers. It is the richest country per capita in Africa. However, the wealth is distributed extremely unevenly and few people have benefited from the oil riches. According to the UN, less than half of the population has access to clean drinking water and 20% of children die before reaching the age of five.

President: Obieng Nguema

Capital: Malabo

Population: 1.2 million

Religion: Christianity

Languages: Spanish, French


To download the full report click here

Horizon 2020

Horizon 2020 is Equatorial Guinea’s national plan for social and economic development. Under the plan, the economy is divided into 4 pillars:  energy, agriculture, fishing and services. It has also proposed the creation of strong social cohesion based on a shared vision of society and public policy to improve the lives of the country’s citizens.