Welcome To Burundi

  • Country Profile
  • Development Agenda


The Republic of Burundi is a small landlocked country in the African Great Lakes region of East Africa. It shares a border with Rwanda, Tanzania and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Burundi’s political system is that of a Presidential Representative Democratic Republic based on a multi-party state. Since gaining independence in 1962 there have been recurring tensions between the Huti and Tutsi tribes, which has at times escalated into ethnic violence.

The economy is heavily dependent on the agriculture sector which employs over 90% of the population.


President: Pierre Nkurunziza

Capital: Bujumbura

Population: 11 million

Religion: Christianity, Islam

Languages: Kirundi, French, English

To download the full report click here

Vision 2025 is a roadmap for ensuring long-term, sustainable development.

The vision is centred on 8 key pillars:

  • Good Governance and Capacity-Building of the State
  • Human Capital
  • Economic Growth and the Fight against Poverty
  • Regional Integration
  • Demographics
  • Social Cohesion
  • Regional Planning and Urbanization
  • Partnership